CRIMINAL LAW: Under reciprocal provisions, a resident of

MOTOR VEHICLES: Michigan may operate a motor vehicle for a
period of 90 days in any 1 year without reg-
istering same with the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles.

February 18, 1948

FILED

Honorable D. W. Gilmore " 3 "N; ;

Prosecuting Attorney
Scott County
Benton, Missouri

Dear Sir:

This will acknowledge receipt of your request for an opinion,
which reads:

"The Highway Troopers in this County have ar-
rested a man for driving his automobile with
Michigan license tags on it. This man came

to Missouri 8 months ago, and has been em-
ployed at Charleston, Mississippi County, in
connection with the Veteran's Administration
program--he is an instructor for some of those
taking training under the Veteran's Adm. Educa-
tional Program. During this time he has had

a room in Charleston, but his wife has main-
tained their home in the State of Michigan.

He has made trips back to Michigan about

once a month to visit his wife and children.

"An information has been filed under Sec.
8373 R. S. Mo., 1939, The defendant plead
not guilty, and presumably relies on Section
8375 R. S. Mo., 1939. Counsel was appointed
by the Magistrate, and the Magistrate re-
quested that both sides agree on a contin-
uance until your interpretation be obtained,
and with the further idea in mind that it
may be necessary to obtain the attitude of
the Michigan authorities under the recipro-
city arrangement provided for in Sec. 8375.

"Similar cases have come up frequently be-
fore, but the defendants have always plead
guilty, paid a small fine, obtained Missouri
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License tags, and--lived happily ever-after-
wards, I guess. But since an issue has been
made, we want to make a proper disposition
of the matter in order that we might estab-
lish a precedent."

The facts stated in your request are analogous to the facts
in another request for an opinion, which was rendered under date
of October 30, 1947, to Colonel Hugh H. Waggoner, Superintendent
of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, a copy of which we are
enclosing.

The enclosed opinion holds that the owner of the motor ve-
hicle in question is a non-resident, and in the absence of a re-
ciprocal provision in the laws of the State of Kansas, exempting
Missouri residents operating motor vehicles in that state under
similar circumstances, that said non-resident operating his motor
vehicle in this state must register said motor vehicle in Missouri.
The same rule applies in the instant case. In view of the holding
in the opinion herein referred to, the answer to your request de-
pends upon whether the State of Michigan has enacted a reciprocal
provision or other law exempting Missouri residents from registra-
tion while operating their motor vehicles in the State of Michigan
under like circumstances.

The Laws of Michigan, 1937, created a board known as the
Michigan Highway Reciprocity Board (see Section 422-1 of the Com-
piled Laws of Michigan, 1929, Vol. 5, Mason's 1940 Cumulative Sup-
plement). Under Section 422-2 of the same Volume, we find where
said board is authorized and empowered to enter into reciprocal
compacts and agreements concerning the operation and regulation
of automobiles engaged in international and interstate commerce.
Section 422-3 of the same Volume provides what such compact shall
grant residents of other states and contains a proviso that such
compacts and agreements shall not supersede or suspend any laws,
rules or regulations of the State of Michigan applying to motor
vehicles operated intrastate in the State of Michigan. The fore-
going laws of Michigan, granting reciprocity to owners of motor
vehicles registered in this state, apply almost entirely to inter-
state commerce, and specifically provide that they do not affect
laws, rules and regulations in that state that apply to motor
vehicles operated intrastate in Michigan. We construe said pro-
vision to clearly defeat the possibility of such board executing
any agreement with this state, thereby relieving residents of
this state, while operating their motor vehicles in the State of
Michigan, from registering same with the proper authorities in
that state.

Under date of February 9, 1944, the Public Service Commission
of this state, through its chairman and the Motor Vehicle Department .
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of this state by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and the Michi-
gan Highway Reciprocity Board, executed an agreement exempting said
motor carriers, while operating in interstate and for hire of per-
sons or property from registration, a copy of which we are attach-
ing hereto. However, such agreement does not, in any manner, apply
to motor vehicles operated by individuals for their own pleasure

or business, and not operated for hire.

We find the following amendment in the Public Acts of Michi-
gan, 1947, pages 198-199, which reads in part:

"(9.1504) Sec. 4 (b) It shall be unlawful
for any non-resident whose home state or
country does not require the licensing of
operators or chauffeurs, and who has not
been licensed either as an operator or
chauffeur in his home state or country, to
operate any motor vehicle upon any highway
in this state without first making applica-
tion for and obtaining a license as an ope-
rator or chauffeur as required under this
act, except that any said unlicensed non-
resident who is over the age of 17 years
and who is the owner of a motor vehicle or
private chauffeur or authorized driver of
such owner which has been duly registered
for the current calendar year in the state
or country of which the owner is a resident,
may operate such motor vehicle on the high-
ways of this state for a period of not more
than 90 days in any 1 year without making
application for or obtaining an operator's
or chauffeur's license under this act upon
condition that the motor vehicle shall at
all times display the license number plate
or plates issued therefor in the home state
or country of the owner and that the non-
resident owner, chauffeur or driver has in
his immediate possession a registration card
evidencing such ownership and registration
in his home state or country, or is able at
any time or place required to prove lawful
possession or the right to operate such motor
vehicle and establish his proper identity."

which amendment allows non-residents to operate their motor ve-
hicles in the State of Michigan for 90 days out of any one year,
when said motor vehicles shall, at all times, display the 1li-
cense number plate issued therefor and the operator or owner of
said motor vehicle has evidence of said ownership of said motar
vehicle.
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Section 8375, R. S. Mo. 1939, is known as the reciprocity
provision in the Motor Vehicle Act of the State of Missouri, and
it permits a non-resident owner to operate his motor vehicle with-
in this state without registering same or paying any fee providing
that similar privileges are granted residents of this state operat-
ing their motor vehicles within the state of the non-resident.

CONCLUSION

In view of Section 8375, supra, Laws of Missouri, and 9.1504,
Section 4 (b), supra, Laws of Michigan, it is the opinion of this
department that the person referred to in your request may operate
his motor vehicle in this state for a period not to exceed 90 days
in any one year without registering same with the Commissioner of
Motor Vehicles of this state. Thereafter, it is necessary that he
register said motor vehicle with said Commissioner of the State of
Missouri.

Respectfully submitted,

AUBREY R. HAMMETT, JR.
Assistant Attorney General

APPROVED :

J. E. TAYLOR
Attorney General



